Hon'ble President of India will present Jnanpith to Krishna Sobti on 10th Feb 2018 in New Delhi

Moortidevi Award



Bharatiya Jnanpith, a research and cultural trust founded in 1944 by Sahu Shanti Prasad Jain, for publication of Ancient Indian manuscripts in Sanskrit, Prakrit, Pali, Apabhramsa, Tamil, Kannada, etc., and for giving impetus to contemporary creative writing in modern Indian languages, decided to present annually an Award of Rupees One lac in the memory of Moortidevi, mother of Sahu Shanti Prasad Jain, the founder of Bharatiya Jnanpith to a contemplative or intellectual work created by any living author writing in any of the languages enlisted in the VIIIth Schedule of Indian Constitution and English, which underlines and expresses Indian philosophy and cultural heritage based on wider ideals and human values. Presently, the award consists of a Saraswati Statue, a Citation Plaque and Cash Award.



The Process of selection


1.    The Award instituted by Bharatiya Jnanpith is presented every year for a contemplative and perceptive work  written in any forms of literature  which expresses, underlines and illumines human values rooted in the broad vision of Indian philosophy and cultural heritage. The objective of the Award is to foster social and individual commitment to higher values of life through the medium of literature in its larger sense. In that perspective, analytical, reflective and perceptive writing of a higher order would be considered for the Award.

2.    Only the work of a living author, published at least one year and at the most ten years before the relevant Award year is considered for the Award.

3.    Proposals for the Award may be submitted by the publisher or by any other person or an institution. Proposal forms may be downloaded from the website of Bharatiya Jnanpith. The Selection Committee is free to consider any other works besides the proposals submitted to it. Only the proposal forms, received by due date, will be considered in the selection process,

4.    If, during any Award year, the selection Committee does not find any work measuring upto the required standard, no Award may be declared for that year.

5.    The Selection Committee is fully empowered to decide all matters regarding the process of nomination, evaluation and selection.

6.    The language of the awarded book that receives the Award in a particular year will not be eligible for competition for the next year’s award.

7.    Once a writer has been selected for the Award, none of his other works will be considered for any subsequent Award.


The Persons who have given their cooperation as a member of selection Board in the past are :

Shri Jainendra Kumar, Shri Gangasaran Singh, Shri Akshay Kumar Jain, Dr. Laxmimall Singhavi, Siddhantachaya Pt. Kailash Chandra Shastri, Dr. Lokesh Chandra, Sahu Shriyans Prasad Jain, Dr. Nemi Chandra Jain, Shri Ashok Kumar Jain, Shri Laxmi Chandra Jain (ex-officio), Prof. Dayakrishna, Dr. Panduranga Rao (ex-officio), Dr. C.R. Swaminathan, Dr. Nirmala Jain and Shri Dinesh Misra (ex-officio). Dr. Kapila Vatsyayan (as Chairman), Dr. Ramdarash Mishra, Dr. Jagannath Prasad Das, Shri Ramesh Chandra, Dr. Prabhakar Shrotriya (Ex-officio), Shri T. N. Chaturvedi (as Chairman), Prof. K. Sachchidanandan, Shri Kamal Sogani, Dr. Pratibha Ray, Prof. Vrishabha Prasad Jain, Sahu Akhilesh Jain (Ex- Officio), Prof. S. Sesharatnam, Prof. Rajaram Jain


Present Selection Board


1. Prof. Satyavrat Shastri (Chairman)
2. Dr. Asgar Wajahat
3. Dr. Kedarnath Singh
4. Shri Sheenkaaf Nizam 
5. Prof. Veersagar Jain

6. Shri Jayant Parmar

7. Dr. K. Sreenivasrao
8. Shri Manas Ranjan Mahapatra (Ex- officio)
9. Shri Leeladhar Mandloi (Ex- officio)